Board of Directors


  • Alana Shepherd (1975), Chair, Shepherd Center Founding Member
  • James D. Thompson (2000), Chair Elect, Retired President, ING Life of Georgia
  • Clark H. Dean, (2010), Chair Elect, Executive Managing Director and Partner, Transwestern
  • Sara S. Chapman (1993), Corporate Secretary, Teacher, The Westminster Schools
  • Juli Owens (2017), Recording Secretary, Realtor, Atlanta Fine Homes Sotheby’s International Realty


  • Sarah Morrison, PT, MBA, MHA (2017), Chief Executive Officer, Shepherd Center
  • Michael R. Yochelson, MD, MBA (2017), Chief Medical Officer, Shepherd Center
  • Steve Holleman (2020), Treasurer, Chief Financial Officer, Shepherd Center


  • Andrew Alias, (2022) Chairman, Board of Trustees, REPAY
  • Fred V. Alias, (1984, rejoined 2008), Chief Executive Officer, Sandcastle Resorts, Inc.
  • Shaler Alias, (2020) President and Co-Founder, REPAY
  • David F. Apple, Jr., M.D., (1975) Medical Director Emeritus, Shepherd Center Founding Member, Cyndae Arrendale, (2016) Civic Volunteer
  • Bryant G. Coats, (2017) Chief Executive Officer and Director, Resource Housing Group, Inc. 
  • Robert Cunningham (2020) Retired Owner, Cunningham Associates
  • Charles L. Davidson III, (2016) Chairman/CEO, The Brookdale Group
  • John S. Dryman, (1987) President, The Dryman Team
  • General Larry R. Ellis, USA (Ret.), (2017) Chief Executive Officer, ESSE, LLC
  • William C. Fowler (1993) Private Investor
  • Susan Hawkins, (2022) Civic Volunteer
  • Justin Jones, (2020) Vice President, International at Heritage Plastics
  • Molly Lanier, (2014) Civic Volunteer
  • Donald P. Leslie, M.D., (1992) Medical Director Emeritus, Shepherd Center
  • Douglas Lindauer, (2010) VP Sales and Marketing, Ted Turner Expeditions
  • Talbot Nunnally, (1997) Shareholder, Chamberlain, Hrdlicka, White, Williams & Aughtry
  • Sally D. Nunnally, (1991) Civic Volunteer
  • Vincenzo Piscopo, (2020), President and CEO, United Spinal Association
  • John Rooker, (2014) CEO, Rooker Company
  • James H. Shepherd, III, (2014) President and Chief Operating Officer, Shepherd Center
  • W. Clyde Shepherd III, (2005) Vice President, Shepherd Construction Co.
  • K. Boynton Smith, (2017) Senior Vice President, McGriff, Seibels & Williams
  • James E. Stephenson, (2008), Retired Chairman, Yancey Bros. Co.
  • Jarrad Turner, (2020) CEO/Co-Founder, 9P Solutions

Emeriti Members

  • C. Duncan Beard, (1979) Beard-Shuford Financial Group
  • Bernie Marcus, (1987) Chairman, The Marcus Foundation, Inc.

 Senior Executive Team at Shepherd Center

  • Atul Kanvinde, Chief Information Officer
  • Sarah Batts, Sr Vice President Development and Volunteer Services Executive Director Shepherd Foundation
  • Deborah Backus, Vice President Research and Innovation and Director Crawford Research Institute
  • Wilma Bunch, Vice President Patient Experience
  • Katherine Creek, Vice President Human Resources
  • Joe Nowicki, Vice President Facilities Services